top of page

Mobility Aids

Hi folks! Welcome back to the school year. Redefining Inclusivity took a bit of a hiatus so some of our writers could take a break and recover from the adventure that is junior year of high school. However, we are back for now!


Today, I'd like to introduce you to the world of mobility aids. A nightmare for some, a life saver for others. Seen as an inconvenience for the ignorant, but a world of accessibility for those who need it most. It's truly one of those things that require you to step into the world to truly understand.


This post will be set up in a bit of a different format, using a sort of FAQ style based on questions I’ve been asked, questions I’ve heard others ask, and questions I’ve had myself.


Let's cover some quick backstory as to why I have the opportunity to provide insight on this topic. Since 2016, I have been battling an unknown condition that has affected the entirety of my left leg, from my lower back to the tips of my toes. Now not only was every new mobility aid I tried out just one more new thing to work into my routine and learn to use, but judgmental stares, name-calling, infantilizing and self-victimizing from those around me really threw me for a loop. The time I spent in a wheelchair meant those around me would crouch down and slow their speech when talking to me. Using crutches in schools and other public places would incite a "you should have told me in advance, this is really inconvenient for me" from teachers and staff. And this was over just a week or two at most using mobility aids, over a request for an elevator pass. I am fortunate enough that I use mobility aids conditionally (as my pain inflames) rather than using them 24/7. While I won’t be able to cover and provide insight into all experiences people have had with mobility aids, I can definitely speak on my experience, continue to educate, and hope this helps people change their perspectives. Let’s jump right in!


So- what is a mobility aid?


A mobility aid is an object or technology that aids in [independent] movement when movement is impaired, either temporarily (ie: broken bones), lifetime (chronic illness or paralysis), progressive (ie: arthritis or aging), or situational/conditional (ie: chronic illness flare-up). Some examples of mobility aids that you might see on a daily basis would include crutches, wheelchairs, and canes. Others include walkers, and even scooters. Mobility aids can be used for many diagnoses and conditions; not just amputation, broken bones, or paralysis.


Who uses mobility aids?


Anyone who needs help with independent movement can use mobility aids. As stated before, the experience is different for everyone. Some might use a wheelchair 3 days a week, while others use them 24/7. One person with a sprained ankle might use crutches on days they have to walk far, whereas those with a broken foot might use crutches daily until they’re healed. There are no two people who use mobility aids the same way.


Aren’t our communities meant to be mobility-aid-user-friendly?

While some actions have been taken into place to make it easier for mobility-aid users to get around (wide, tactile sidewalks for blind people + wheelchair users, for example), these services aren’t always kept up to code. Sidewalks crack, tactile roads wear down, and others, in their rush, aren’t always paying attention to the needs and challenges of those around them. The community might be helping in some ways, but that doesn’t necessarily cater to all of the accessibility methods that need to be addressed.


Where can I learn more information?

Asking questions, talking to people with real experience, and Google are your best friends. Talk to a wheelchair-user; ask them what would make using their mobility aids easier. Because remember- their usage of mobility aids isn’t an inconvenience to someone who doesn’t use mobility aids. Instead, it's a world that is meant for people who can get from Point A to Point B despite sidewalk conditions or tight spaces which is not livable for disabled folks who use mobility aids. And to add on: @/disabled_eliza on Instagram is one of my favorite creators on Instagram. They share tons of helpful information on their experience as someone who uses various mobility aids based on their day-to-day well-being.


That’s it for today, folks! Thank you so much for joining us today to learn about Mobility Aids. Looking for a shorter version of this post to share with friends, or to use as a guide? Be sure to check out our Instagram page!


Hope to see you back soon. More posts are up and coming! Till next time.


-Vaishali






Recent Posts

See All

Subtle Stim Toy Jewelry

For many Neurodivergent folks who struggle with overstimulation or understimulation; stimming and fidgeting is crucial to our comfort. These actions can provide the external stimulation necessary to s

Kids in Preschool

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Welcome to my little piece of the internet world. Here, you will find resources about expanding the meaning of inclusiveness to truly live up to its definition. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page